# Norwood Park School

5900 N. Nina Ave., Chicago, IL 60631 Local School Council (LSC) Minutes

October 8, 2019 6:00pm

### LSC Attendees:

Maria Ligammari (Parent Rep)
Marissa Amstadter (Teacher Rep)
Ryan Coors (Principal)
Alex Corpwell (Parent Rep)

Alex Cornwell (Parent Rep)
Jennifer DiSanti (Teacher Rep)

Jim Murphy (Community Rep)
Sandra Fronczak (Parent Rep)
Tina Beranek (Non-Teaching Staff Rep)

Engy Sutherland (Parent Rep) voted in 6:52pm Gisele Bianchini (Parent Rep) voted in 6:54pm

# Absent:

Michelle Angel (Parent Rep)

Margaret CastIglione (Community Rep) voted in 6:50pm

# Minutes:

- 1. Call Meeting to Order at 6:05pm.
- 2. Roll Call was completed and **quorum** was established.
- 3. Approval of Agenda:

**Motion** by Jennifer DiSanti to approve meeting agenda.

Seconded by Alex Cornwell; Voice vote taken; 8 yes; 0 no; 0 abstain; Motion passes

- 4. Reports
  - 1. Chair: Maria Ligammari
  - 2. Principal Report: Ryan Coors (see attached).
  - 3. PTO: Ed Vasquez
  - 4. School-Community Committee: Melinda Linas
- 5. Old Business: N/A
- 6. New Business

**Budget Transfers** 

**Motion** by Alex Cornwell to transfer \$386.90 from Acct 115-57940 to 115-54125 for reimbursement to ILT member for PD literature.

**Seconded** by Jennifer DiSanti; Voice vote taken; **8 yes**; 0 no; 0 abstain; **Motion** passes

**Motion** by Jennifer DiSanti to transfer \$250.00 from Internal Accounts: Student Fees to Acct 124-51320 to pay after school staff in bucket: Medicare taxes.

**Seconded** by Marissa Amstadter; Voice vote taken; **8 yes**; 0 no; 0 abstain; **Motion** passes

**Motion** by Alex Cornwell to approve transfer of \$2,500 from Internal Accounts: Student Fees to Acct 124-51320 to pay after school staff in bucket: hourly pay.

**Seconded** by Jennifer DiSanti; Voice vote taken; **8 yes**; 0 no; 0 abstain; **Motion** passes

**Motion** by Jennifer DiSanti to approve transfer \$14,557.53 from Acct 115-57940 to Acct 115-51300 to cover negative in position pointer line (salaries) due to lane changes and other adjustments.

Seconded by Alex Cornwell; Voice vote taken; 8 yes; 0 no; 0 abstain; Motion passes

**Motion** by Alex Cornwell to transfer \$100 from Acct 115-57940 to Acct 115-51320 to cover negative in position bucket line due to salary changes.

**Seconded** by Jennifer DiSanti; Voice vote taken; **8 yes**; 0 no; 0 abstain; **Motion** passes

**Motion** by Jennifer DiSanti to transfer \$5,000 from Acct 115-57940 to Acct 115-54105 to pay for technology repairs in FY20.

Seconded by Alex Cornwell; Voice vote taken; 8 yes; 0 no; 0 abstain; Motion passes

#### LSC Vacancies:

**Motion** by Jennifer DiSanti to approve to go into *Closed Session* to discuss and vote on LSC candidates at 6:39pm.

**Seconded** by Maria Ligammari; Voice vote taken; **8 yes**; 0 no; 0 abstain; **Motion** passes

**Motion** by Jennifer DiSant to approve to adjourn the *Closed Session* and reopen the *Open Session* at 6:43pm.

Seconded by Alex Cornwell; Voice vote taken; 8 yes; 0 no; 0 abstain; Motion passes

**Motion** by Maria Ligammari to approve candidate Margaret Castiglione for Community Representative. Voice vote taken; **7 yes**; 0 no; 1 abstain; **Motion passes** 

**Motion** by Maria Ligammari to approve candidate Engy Sutherland for Parent Representative. Voice vote taken; **7 yes**; 0 no; 1 abstain; **Motion passes** 

**Motion** by Maria Ligammari to approve candidate Gisele Bianchini for Parent Representative. Voice vote taken; **7 yes**; 0 no; 1 abstain; **Motion passes** 

CPS Early Childhood Education Center

Jimm Dispensa from CPS spoke about proposed plans for Early Childhood Education Center on NPS campus. He stated NPS is a candidate site only; other viable locations are under consideration. CPS will have a traffic study done; work on plans/design to present at the next committee meeting. Decisions will be made by the end of November.

7. Public Participation

Kevin Walsh Ed Vasquez Lina Eskew Tom Flannery Nicole DeRosa Tad Van Pelt Susan Muller Robert Luedtke Paula Blanski Tom Rieck Diane Blaszczyk Shari Centrone Diane Walsh Kristine Chambers Angelo Gallegos Diane Fallon Mike Horst Annie Anton-Johnson

Nicole Sullivan Kathleen Loughran Troy Angers Karl Vanderful

# 8. Adjourn

**Motion** by Jennifer DiSantib to adjourn at 7:46pm;

Seconded by Alex Cornwell; Voice vote taken: 10 yes; 0 no; 0 abstain; Motion passes

Next LSC meeting November 19, 2019 @ 6:00pm